Tempeh Bacon or Facon

I have read so much about Facon or Tempeh Bacon. So I found a recipe that I could do Here. So I decided to give it a try. If you go to the link, you are going to noticed the recipe will be the same as the one I am writing below. Why? you may ask. Just incase I delete the book mark from my computer. :D I want to keep this recipe with me. :-P

Later on I will post a picture of the BLT. :D

Tempeh Bacon, Vegan Facon

makes about 1/2 cup

*a nice stack for 1-2 sandwiches

5 ounces tempeh (2/3 a standard 8 ounce pack)

1-2 Tbsp maple or agave syrup

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp cumin

a dash of cayenne

1 tsp liquid smoke (opt’l)

1 tsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp thick black pepper

for pan: 2 tsp olive oil

*if you don’t have liquid smoke use these BBQ spice combos:

(garlic, pepper, paprika and onion)

To make:

1. Very thinly slice the tempeh.

2. As thin as you can slice it without it falling apart.

3. Combine all ingredients in a shallow dish.

4. Soak tempeh in marinade for 1-2 minutes.

5. Turn saute pan on high, add 1-2 tsp olive oil. Lay the tempeh flat on skillet. One layer only. Drizzle a bit of excess marinade onto skillet-it should be sizzling a lot now.

6. Allow to cook for 1 minute, then flip. Allow to cook for another minute on other side-or until both sides are crisp and browned.

7. Lay cooked tempeh on parchment paper to cool. Sprinkle with black pepper and thick sea salt to taste.

8. For a crisper tempeh bacon, do not pour excess marinade in skillet, and allow all liquid to steam off of pan while cooking.

Let me know if you make it before I do.


Powered by Blogilo

Leave a Reply

